Skip to content

April 6, 2012

2

Food and Pleasure

by PerformancEDU

Today I want to talk about “Food” and “Pleasure”. Do those 2 words belong together??? If you live in America, your first response might be “No – we should ‘Eat to Live’”. Right?? Hmmm, well as much as I believe in feeding your body wholesome foods, there is something about the whole “Eating just to Live” mindset that doesn’t “feel” good to me. My personal instinct says that Food and Pleasure absolutely go hand in hand!! So where did we get this idea that taking pleasure in food is “wrong”. Or that eating “junk food” is sinful. Why do we even consider certain foods “Guilty Pleasures”? (as in “your guilty for taking pleasure”). It’s interesting right?? It’s rare that people take pleasure in food anymore – and I mean TRUE pleasure, not an ounce of guilt (or saying things like, “well I SHOULDN’T be eating this, but oh well!” – that is not true pleasure). Could it be that the secret to the “French paradox” is that they derive so much pleasure from the food they eat? Could one reason that Americans are becoming so overweight is because there is so much guilt and fear wrapped up in food or eating… or even pleasure for that matter? I don’t think it’s a coincidence. Don’t get me wrong – I am not pointing the finger at you thinking “Wow – you guys are really messed up!” Not at all! I do/say these things too – that’s why it is so interesting to me! So where is that balance between “Eating to Live” and “Living to Eat”? And how do we find that balance?

I believe that real, nutritious, nourishing foods are important and can help you to live a happy life. I also believe that one of the “purposes” of life is to ENJOY life!! I’ve witnessed many people who take the “virtues” of food and eating a bit too far (hey – I even almost went down that road myself!). Eating is not a religion (not to me anyways) and I certainly do not want to get caught up in that mindset – let alone promote it. Eating one food over the other does not make us “good” or “bad” people. And quite honestly, I don’t think that there is ONE perfect way to eat. There is just the way YOU or I eat. Period. Done. To judge yourself or others for what is chosen to eat, is silly – maybe even dangerous. In fact, there are many research studies that prove that if we eat a food just because we think we “should”, but we don’t truly enjoy it or don’t really WANT to eat it, then we don’t even absorb much nutrition from that food. I know that for me, personally, when I take true pleasure in eating exactly what I want based on my own intuition – I just naturally eat less. It’s not until I force myself to eat the foods I think I “need” that I wind up overeating. This is definitely “food for thought”. Maybe we all need to remember how to “Eat, Drink and Be Merry” again….

With that in mind…here’s your “Personal Challenge” for the day: Ask yourself what YOU need to feel good right now and honor that! Maybe sitting on the couch, eating Twizzlers in your most comfortable pair of sweat pants will feel good – awesome! Do it! Or maybe stretching out with some yoga or going for a walk sounds yummy. Or maybe calling your mom or your BFF. Or maybe getting all sweaty in the gym! Whatever it is that sounds amazing to YOU – do it!! And revel in the pleasure…

Until next time….

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Apr 9 2012

    I could’t agree more with you! In your last post about gluten you mentioned that you primarily eat for health and nutrition but then you do eat for fun at times. For me, I know that most of my meals throughout the week are healthy and nutritious. Then (usually during the weekends) I will enjoy a meals that I truly enjoy, I will go to dinner or brunch with my sister and loosen up a bit. I don’t feel guilty about doing this because I know what I do the rest of the week, and completely agree with you that an awesome part about life it to also enjoy food! Food is a huge part of our culture, it brings people together and nourishes our bodies. It is frustrating when people are so negative towards food. Another awesome post!

    Reply
    • Apr 10 2012

      Very true!! We have definitely struggled with our own negative attitudes towards food and definitely know the pain that it can cause! Ultimately it’s all a learning lesson and, if you choose to take the lessons, it can bring you closer to where you want to go! Thanks again for the comment!

      Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments